SLOTHRUST • Weakened Friends

Poftx presents . . .SLOTHRUST’s first return to Texas since the pandemic. Touring in support of their 5th studio album Parallel Timeline. Slothrust will appear at Deep Ellum Art Co. in Dallas, TX.

HOT FLASH HEAT WAVE • Small Crush • Reptaliens • The Irons

HOT FLASH HEAT WAVE: The San Francisco trio of Adam Abildgaard, Nick Duffy, and Ted Davis have built a loyal following and constant buzz over the last several years, with the 2019 EP ‘Mood Ring’ standing as their most kaleidoscopic work to date. Merging the quintessential melodies of pop’s past with contemporary touches to forge something truly unique, Hot Flash Heat Wave is just starting to create their own sonic world. Last year’s EP launched the group into a realm entirely different from their previous catalogue. It is their truest-to-heart release yet, synthesizing a wide range of influences encompassing My Bloody Valentine, Frank Ocean, New Order, and Toro y Moi into something that sounds new and refreshing. Mood Ring’s lead single “Glo Ride” bounces with a slight R&B tilt against a dark, trippy atmosphere, while “Sky So Blue” finds the band spiralling into full-on psychedelia, complete with layers of spell-casting keyboards and a wonderfully zonked-out breakdown. And the future only seems brighter from here: with September’s single ‘Grudge’ teasing a 2021 LP, Hot Flash Heat Wave is preparing for the next step up the staircase in their colorful sonic journey, with determination to elevate their craft in the process.

ANIKA (DE/UK) • Lesser Care • Don’t Get Lemon

Anika – the project of Berlin-based musician Annika Henderson who is also a founding member of Exploded View – announces Change, her first new album in over a decade, and shares the “Change” video directed by Sven Gutjahr who also directed the video for recent single “Finger Pies.” The follow-up to cult favorite Anika (2010), Change is beautifully fraught. The intimacy of its creation and a palpable sense of global anxiety are seemingly baked into the album’s DNA. Spread across nine tracks, the central feeling of the record is one of heightened frustration buoyed by guarded optimism. The songs offer skittering, austere electronic backdrops reminiscent of classic Broadcast records or Hi Scores-era Boards of Canada, playing them against Anika’s remarkable voice—Nico-esque, beautifully plaintive, and—in regards to the record’s subject matter—totally resolute.


Loving is the musical collaboration of David Parry, Lucas Henderson and Jesse Henderson. The band formed by way of a long-distance recording project (Victoria – Toronto) that resulted in the creation of their debut self-titled EP. After the unexpected embrace of this work, the band reconvened in Victoria, BC to begin playing live shows and work on new material.Following in the path of their debut EP, If l am only my thoughts was home recorded and represents a deeper exploration of the band’s creative process – a process marked by an appreciation for the generative limitations of recording to tape. The resulting album constructs a warm and dreamy sonic landscape kept adrift by existentially oriented lyrics and an unspecified all-encompassing sense of nostalgia.

DRY CLEANING (UK) • Fake Fruit

DRY CLEANING (UK) – The South London group of Nick Buxton (drums), Tom Dowse (guitar), Lewis Maynard (bass) and Florence Shaw (vocals) will release thier debut album New Long Leg on 2nd April.  The 10-track long-player, which includes ‘Strong Feelings’ and last year’s single ‘Scratchcard Lanyard’, was recorded over two weeks last summer at Rockfield Studios in rural Wales with producer John Parish (PJ Harvey, Aldous Harding).


Paper Tiger & Parade of Flesh presents TEMPER with Leya in San Antonio.


Japanese city pop, Brazilian boogie, and the songs his parents sang karaoke to, these influences help make Michael Seyer one of the most unique artists creating music in the indie-pop space today. On his new EP Nostalgia the 24 year old songwriter, born in the Philippines but raised in Gardena, a suburb of Los Angeles, set out to create songs which were both fresh and timeless. Michael Seyer developed his songwriting in the SoCal bedroom pop scene and across two self-released full-length records, 2016’s Ugly Boy and 2018’s Bad Bonez. Now, working with Caroline, Seyer looked to his past for inspiration. The six track EP bares the unmistakable hallmarks of classic pop from the 60’s and 70’s – the kinds of songs which strove to find a perfect balance between emotion and technique.  Standouts from the EP include the 80’s pop of “I Can’t Dance,” the saxophone filled bossa nova of “Heaven Only Knows,” and the smooth jazz of “Oh! This is Love.” These are the sounds the next generation of parents will want to sing in their living rooms.

J.R.C.G. (Dreamdecay Music Group) • Trauma Ray • The End

Justin R Cruz Gallego of Seattle punk band Dreamdecay has shared his latest single as a solo artist under the moniker J.R.C.G., following his debut single “Holy Hope.” “Rainbow,” the second single from his forthcoming debut album Ajo Sunshine moves way beyond the work of his old band, venturing into the intensive territory of experimental, psychedelic, and spiritual music. Earning praise from outlets such as Brooklyn Vegan and Post-Trash, “Rainbow” is a wild mess of distortion, noise, and eclectic sounds. It blends acoustic and electric instruments into one gigantic impenetrable wall of sound that constantly evades the listener’s grasp. With a hypnotic, droning pulse, the song grows and collapses from moments of extreme chaos into woozy tranquil peace, only to swing suddenly back the other way again. Although the song has lyrics, they are nearly impossible to make out, sounding more like another instrument merely contributing to the forceful sound.  Despite all of the chaos, the song has undeniable melodic instincts. When it first breaks into the second section of harsh noise, there is an unmistakable melodic edge, almost strong enough to sing, although there is no words. – Sam Seliger